I think of this table as of a piece with the Pub Names and Patent Medicine tables, even though it’s much simpler. The setting is different, but I can’t help mentally linking it with my recent thoughts on crafting too. There’s something suggestive of purpose in many of the results.

Recovered: Fantastic Pulp Materials

Over the summer I’ve been reading some old Doc Savage books, where I’ve found references to duralumin and pliofilm. These were both materials I had never heard of before, which intrigued me. I assembled this table in case I ever run a pulp-style game and need to name some new wonder-material without having to submit to realism.

A black square filled with gray interlocking hexagons, the molecular structure of graphene.Image from Wikimedia Commons.

The table is short enough that I will reproduce it here in full:

Roll 1st Half (d20) 2nd Half (d20)
1 aero cast
2 ballisti cord
3 benzo crete
4 carbo dark
5 cellu film
6 coro gel
7 dura glass
8 formi lite
9 gem lumin
10 hyper nite
11 lumi plast
12 malo prene
13 neo rox
14 para seal
15 plio sil
16 protecto sol
17 quick stol
18 solu stone
19 star tex
20 zero tix

A half-dozen samples:

  1. hypergel
  2. maloplast
  3. cellusol
  4. formicast
  5. lumisil
  6. lumilite

Rarely, you may get the trade-name of an actual product (it is cobbled together from those), as I have no mechanism to prevent that.

Automated

You’ll never stop it! It’s made of solid…”



This post was first shared on August 8, 2012. The generator was first shared on August 16, 2020, and here re-built with the most recent version of Spwack’s generator generator.



Date
March 31, 2023




Comment