This is one more example of how differently I thought about blogging when I started. Two unrelated topics smashed together, and one of them really more of a social media post. Somewhere along the way, Goodman Games broke all their links, but I’m pleased to say that The Great Khan is still sporadically updating.

Recovered: Grab Bag and Ancient Rome

Two rows of letter-sized paperback RPG supplements, spread out on a green carpet.The top row is things I'm definitely keeping (most of the 4e stuff is alien to me).

I got my Goodman Games Holiday Grab Bag today (the sale is ended now). It contained:

  • The Random Esoteric Creature Generator by James Edward Raggi IV
  • In Search of Adventure ed. Ken Hart
  • Points of Light by Robert Conley
  • DM Campaign Record
  • Age of Cthulhu 2: Madness in London Town by Rick Maffei
  • DCC #58: The Forgotten Portal by Chris Doyle
  • DCC #59: Mists of Madness by Harley Stroh
  • DCC #60: Thrones of Punjar by Rick Maffei
  • DCC #72: Beyond the Black Gate by Harley Stroh
  • Wicked Fantasy Factory: A Fistful of Zinjas by Luke Johnson
  • Monstercology: Orcs by Rick Maffei
  • Master Dungeons: Dragora’s Dungeon by Harley Stroh
  • Master Dungeons: Curse of the Kingspire by Harley Stroh
  • Azagar’s Book of Rituals ed. Dwight Hulse, Aeryn Rudel, Harley Stroh
  • Amethyst: Foundations by Chris Dias

Which I think is a pretty good pull, especially considering The Esoteric Random Creature Generator was not only on my wish list, but enormously discounted:

A screenshot from a desktop computer of Amazon open in a browser. The item is The Random Esoteric Creature Generator, available used from $932.65.Rejoice in the beautiful mess of my 2013 desktop setup.

So, About Ancient Rome…

I’m thinking of doing something for the Great Khan’s latest contest. Initially, I was thinking of making some sort of itinerarium, but I don’t think I’ll be doing that anymore. But for the use of others, The Orbis Project is an amazing resource. For the entry I’m considering now, here are two translations of Vitruvius’ On Architecture:

While I may or may not finish in time for the contest, I’m having a lot of fun with it, and I wish everyone else the same.



Date
May 26, 2023



Comment