It was the end of the summer, perhaps an over-ambitious time to start a new project. I’ve since got rid of most of my Mage Knight (and Bones), but I kept a few. I’ve played in a couple games with miniatures, but I’ve never run one.

Recovered: Debasing Mage Knight

I’ve got a pile of old Mage Knight figures, and there’s really not a whole lot you can do with them. No stores will touch them, nobody will buy them, the bases are too large to play nice with other figures, and a lot of the sculpts and paint jobs are decidedly mediocre. After pledging to the Reaper Bones Kickstarter, I thought maybe I’d use them to practice my (non-existent) painting skills until May when the bones ship.

An outline of the process I’m looking at:

  1. Remove the figures from their bases.
  2. Remove the paint from the figures.
  3. Attach the figures to new bases.
  4. Paint the figures.

In this post, I am just considering the first step: removing the figures from their bases.

Three black bat-winged Mage Knight figures with white claws and hair and yellow pants stand on a blue and yellow cutting mat.From this…

The same three figures rest on the mat on their backs, separated from their bulky bases.…to this.

This process is about as simple as it seems, the figures pry off of their bases fairly easily with a craft knife. I recommend practicing on some figures you don’t care about first, such as these Feral Bloodsuckers” (I chose the same ones because I plan to test solvents on them, so they should all be similar).

There are a few tips I can offer however:

  • Freezing the minis does help them come off easier (unless they’re wet from washing, then the ice just mucks things up).
  • Wear gloves. You will cut yourself. You’ll cut away from your hands, you’ll keep the mini in a clamp, you’ll think I’m smarter than that”, and then you’ll go and cut up a finger.
  • The motion isn’t really a cutting” motion so much as a prying” motion. Which isn’t to say that you should pry the figure off with the craft knife, but that the gap is already there and you just need to widen it.

Join me at an indeterminate point in the future, when I test an array of household (and exotic) solvents and cleaners on these.

This post was first shared on September 1, 2012.



Date
April 21, 2023



Comment