Crisis on Christmas Prime, an Update

In July of 2022, I made Crisis on Christmas Prime absolutely free. I don’t have much to add since I last looked at the finances, except that I think PWYW was a poor fit for this project. Perhaps in the future, if I have some project that’s a little more polished,1 I will charge a flat price and promote it more. But for now, I’d prefer not to hustle, or fill out extra tax forms, or spread links constantly. I don’t regret the experiment, but I’m not motivated to continue it.

In the final accounting, it grossed $46 over about two years, and has been downloaded a total of 487 times2 (as of this January). Anecdotally, views” in 2022 convert more readily into downloads” since the pricing change, but this could be seasonal.

I am of course still grateful to everyone who supported the project monetarily, and especially also those who reached out with feedback and play reports. I learned a lot in the process, gained confidence in my abilities, and felt more a part of a community at a time when that was as important as ever.

A two-horse carriage lets its passengers off outside a Christmas party on a snowy night.A two-horse carriage lets its passengers off outside a Christmas party on a snowy night.

In Memoriam

I was only ever a casual internet acquaintance of Jim Shelly: distant enough that his passing took me by surprise, but close enough that it affected me more than I expected. His Northstars comics are exactly the kind of joyful wintry mish-mash that I love, and I recommend them. I wish all the best to his friends and family.


  1. For the original Crisis on Christmas, I kept myself to a strict deadline, which accounts for some of the loose ends that persist in Crisis on Christmas Prime.↩︎

  2. Of course the direct download is unmonitored and as always, still available.↩︎



Date
January 23, 2023



Comment